Comprehensive List

Distinguished Community of Previous Benchley Winners Include:

Excellence in National Stewardship

Susi Pudjiastuti, Minister of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries for Indonesia (2017)
Tommy Remengesau, Jr, President of Palau (2016)
H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco (2015)
Maria Damanaki, EU Commissioner (2014)
Macky Sall, President of Senegal (2013)
Anote Tong, President of Kiribati (2012)
Laura Chinchilla, President of Costa Rica (2011)

Excellence in Science

Dr. Ben Halpern (2017), Dr. Ussif Rashid Sumaila (2017)
Dr. Barbara Block (2016)
Dr. Daniel Pauly (2015)
Dr. Steve Gaines (2014)
Dr. Boris Worm & Dr. Heike Lotze (2013)
Dr. Nancy Rabalais (2012)
Dr. Stephen Palumbi (2011)
Jesse H. Ausubel (2010)
Dr. Jeremy Jackson & Dr. Nancy Knowlton (2009)
Dr. Ransom Myers (2004)

Excellence in Policy

U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal (2017), U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (2017)
Dr. David Wilmot & Ocean Champions (2016)
Secretary of State John F. Kerry (2015)
Secretary Leon Panetta (2014)
U.S. Senator Ed Markey (2013)
U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (2012)
Admiral Thad Allen, USCG Retired (2011)
Dr. Jane Lubchenco (2010)
U.S. Representative Sam Farr (2009)
U.S. Senator Ernest Hollings (2004)

Excellence in Media

One World One Ocean (2017)
Ian Urbina (2016)
The Economist (2015)
Gabriela Cowperthwaite (2014)
Nancy Baron & COMPASS (2013)
Brian Skerry (2012)
Juliet Eilperin (2011)
Louie Psihoyos (2010)
Mark Shelly (2009)
Naples Daily News (2004)

Excellence in Solutions

Rhode Island Ocean Special Area Management Planning Team & The Mid-Atlantic and Northeast Regional Planning Bodies (2017)
Dr. Chris Costello (2016)
Dr. Geraldine Knatz (2012)
Dr. Greg Stone (2011)

Excellence in Marine Exploration

Tara Expeditions Foundation (2016)
Nainoa Thompson (2015)
Prince Khaled bin Sultan & Living Oceans Foundation (2014)
Ocean in Google Earth (2012)
Don Walsh (2010)

Ocean Spirit Foundation Award

Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation (2010)

Christopher Benchley Youth Award

Carter and Olivia Ries (2017)
Daniela Fernandez (2016)
Madison "Pip" Stewart (2015)
Casey Sokolovic (2014)
Sean Russell (2013)
Ta’Kaiya Blaney (2012)
Rudy Sanchez (2011)
Kyle Thiermann (2010)
Zander Srodes (2009)

Hero of the Seas Awards

Robin Alden, Maine Center for Coastal Fisheries (2017)
Mayor, Serge Dedina (2016)
Dana Beach & Todd Miller (2015)
Captain Charles Moore (2014)
Karen Garrison & Kaitilin Gaffney (2013)
Peter Douglas (2012)
Kathy Fletcher (2011)
Cynthia M. Sarthou (2010)
Richard Charter (2009)
Dery Bennett (2004)

Honored for Sustained Ocean Achievement

Joshua S. Reichert and the Pew Charitable Trusts’ Ocean Group (2017)


To contact Co-Founder, Wendy Benchley, please email Wendy's Executive Assistant Mary Fritz,


To contact Co-Founder, David Helvarg, please email,