Selection Committee

Wendy Benchley
Ocean Conservation and Policy Advocate


Dr. Sylvia Earle
Pioneering Oceanographer, Explorer in Residence National Geographic and Founder of Mission Blue Sylvia Earle Alliance


David Helvarg
Author and Blue Frontier Executive Director


Dr. Geraldine Knatz​
Professor, USC, Former Executive Director Port of Los Angeles


Dr. Nancy Knowlton
Smithsonian Institution


Dr. Jane Lubchenco
Administrator of NOAA, 2009-2013, Oregon State University, Distinguished Professor


Enric Sala
National Geographic Explorer in Residence


Dr. Greg Stone
Chief Ocean Scientist for Conservation International and Chairman World Economic Forum’s Ocean Council


Jim Toomey
Sherman’s Lagoon and President Blue Frontier Board





To contact Co-Founder, Wendy Benchley, please email Wendy's Executive Assistant Mary Fritz,


To contact Co-Founder, David Helvarg, please email,